top of page
  • deanhandy

photo project first draft.


For the rough draft of my photo editing project, I aimed for the feel of an 80s magazine in order to get my message across. My message means to aim college-aged students, although the audience could be more general, to persuade them to hold onto technology people might say is no longer viable. Essentially, I want this photo project to promote less e-waste when it comes to vintage tech, while also spreading the message that old technology is still viable, sustainable, and stylish even. To start I added a crumpled paper texture to evoke the feel of a worn magazine, and then blended that with a "light color" blending mode with an 80s pattern that I had found online. I then inserted the blank cassette and the recycle sign, and after using the magic wand tool to hollow out the sign, I added another 80s pattern and combined it with the layer of the cassette case to make one image. I then masked and cut out the walkman, and wanted to add vines to evoke the environmental and sustainability theme. I then isolated the saturation for each vine and changed the hues to green, yellow, and pink to keep the theme of the background. Then I inserted a blank cassette and once again masked out the middle and inserted an 80s aesthetic palm tree to once again bring together the idea of environmentalism and old viable technology. Lastly I added a tracklist with a font I felt looked like a marker and inserted text with terms that related to both the environment and 80s lingo.

6 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page