top of page
  • deanhandy

independent photoshop tutorial two.


I call this one "Space Cowboy" for reasons I believe are evident. For this image I utilized another Adobe tutorial titled "Building a Composite With Layer Mask". I added the image of the mural on the first layer and then added the cosmic space image in the second layer. I then added a "layer masking" layer to begin building a composite. Using the brush tool I was surprised to learn that just by editing the foreground and background colors to black and white, you can use the brush tool to go over where you want the backgrounded image to come through. I also learned that you can edit brush size just by hitting the "bracket" keys. So after messing with the opacity of the brush, I masked both the ground, the roof, and the crack in the mural to bring the cosmic image through. After getting the masking I wanted, I once again added an adjustment layer to manipulate the hue and saturation. I increased the saturation of the whole image and then used the magic wand tool to select portions of the wall to also raise contrast.

5 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page