top of page
  • deanhandy

WRIT 105M Website Reflection.


This course genuinely taught me a lot on multimedia communication during a short duration of time. Learning the programs Photoshop, Illustrator, Canva, and Knightlab were a challenge on their own, but learning how to use these platforms to communicate a message effectively was an even greater challenge. I found getting the hang of both Photoshop and Illustrator to be very rewarding and a little more intuitive than I thought they would be. However, finding a way to present a persuasive and informative image through these programs was challenging. I struggled with the first Photoshop project because I had an idea of what I wanted to do and how I could do it, but I think I was too ambitious because I included too many elements and lost the core of my message along the way. Illustrator was easier for me to learn and produce the image that I had in my mind. Canva was extremely helpful in assembling my Illustrator project, as I was able to organize my message and illustration in a way that was simplistic yet effective. The same goes for the Knightlab timeline, as as this point I felt more comfortable keeping things simple and concise while also trying to instill my thematic message of music and sustainability.

Overall, this course taught me some invaluable skills on how to communicate messages in different mediums. I learned that some visual mediums and programs have their drawbacks, and others have their highlights-- but it all eventually boils down to paring the medium and the message that will be most effective. Going forward in my other courses, I will remember what this class taught me on how to communicate messages with words and imagery, as well as how to appeal to different audiences.

2 views
bottom of page